There has never been a more important time to protect and promote your interests, and those of the industry. Join the HFMA and see the benefits that membership brings.
Learn More

HFMA Mission

As the authoritative voice of the natural health industry, the HFMA supports the interests of its members with legislators and regulators; promotes industry best practice for product quality and safety; and provides responsible information for consumers.

HFMA Awards

Maurice Hanssen Award of Honour 2011
The Health Food Manufacturers’ Association (HFMA) has announced Professor David Richardson as the deserving winner of this year’s Maurice Hanssen Award of Honour, at the Natural & Organic Products Europe show on the 2nd April.

The natural health industry’s greatest accolade has been awarded to Professor Richardson for his dedication and commitment to the industry throughout his academic and professional life which spans years of study, research and advisory roles.

David is currently managing director of specialist consultancy in nutrition and food science, DPR Nutrition Ltd.  He also holds visiting professorships at the Universities of Newcastle and Reading.

Beginning his career as a lecturer in human nutrition, David completed his undergraduate degree at Newcastle University in agricultural biochemistry and then a masters in human nutrition at Queen Elizabeth College, London University. David was later appointed Industrial Research Fellow in the Department of Food Science and Nutrition at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

David was then invited by Cadbury Schweppes to join the food industry, and subsequently embarked on a 20-year career with Nestlé UK Ltd, ultimately becoming Group Chief Scientist.

From 1985 to 2000, David was a member of the UK Committee on Medical Aspects of Food Policy (COMA).  In 2003, he chaired a section of an EU Concerted Action Programme Group (PASSCLAIM) to develop a process for the scientific substantiation of health claims, and he was formerly on the Council of the UK Joint Health Claims Initiative (JHCI).

In 2005, he was appointed a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry.  He is also a member of the UK Nutrition Society and Council of the Nutrition and Health Forum of the Royal Society of Medicine, London. In addition, he is a member of several industrial scientific advisory boards and is scientific advisor to a number of European and international organisations covering foods and food supplements.

Throughout his time in the food and the food supplements industry, David has tried to build bridges between academia and industry, stimulating a 2-way flow of information through encouraging industry-sponsored university research projects and also making academic colleagues aware of the needs of industry and regulatory developments that impinge upon them.

HFMA Chairman Martin Last commented: “It was a great honour to be able to present Professor Richardson with the Maurice Hanssen Award of Honour, which recognises commitment and years of hard work dedicated to our industry. David is a well deserved recipient of this award and he joins a list of great names that have received this award over the years.”

David commented: “I really do appreciate the HFMA’s Award of Honour, particularly as it carries the name of Maurice Hanssen. I have had marvellous times working together with people in the food supplements industry, and I was very fortunate in having so many good teachers and mentors over the years.”

The HFMA – the voice of the UK’s natural health industry since 1965 - represents 130 manufacturers and suppliers of natural health products and founded the HFMA Award of Honour in 1995, when it was presented to Dame Barbara Cartland.

In 2005 the award was changed to the HFMA Maurice Hanssen Award of Honour in memory of Maurice, who received the award in 2001.  Other past winners include Eamonn Regan, Ian Martin, Roger Lane, Colin Tophill, Keith Pollitt, Kell Sainsbury, Ray Hill, Penny Viner, Brian McLoughlin, Sue Croft, Derek Shrimpton, Jan De Vries, Rand Skolnick and last year’s winner, Professor Arnold Beckett.

HFMA Health Journalist 2011

The HFMA’s Health Journalist of the Year Award for 2011 has been awarded to Sarah Stacey at the Natural and Organic Products Europe show on the 2nd April 2012.

This prestigious honour, awarded by the HFMA (Health Food Manufacturers’ Association) on behalf of its 130 member companies, is a prized title amongst serious, progressive health writers and broadcasters that is awarded annually to celebrate support of the natural health industry.

Sarah Stacey is an award-winning journalist, who is presently Health Editor of the Mail On Sunday’s YOU magazine and co-writer of the best-selling Beauty Bible series.

Sarah has covered health, environment and science subjects since 1987, for national newspapers and magazines including the Sunday Times, The Daily Telegraph, Telegraph Magazine, Financial Times and the Daily Mail. She was editor of the Sunday Express Magazine and worked in TV documentaries for over a decade, latterly as Development Director of Paladin Pictures.

HFMA Chairman Martin Last praised Sarah’s dedication, knowledge, and support as he presented her with the award:

“Sarah has been a brilliant supporter of the natural health industry throughout her esteemed career. As our industry faces its toughest time ahead with issues such as over regulation and legislative change affecting factors such as consumer choice, support from a high profile journalist such as Sarah is more important than ever.”

Commenting on her award, Sarah said: “It is a real honour to be awarded this prize from such a prestigious organisation. I have been a supporter of the natural health industry for years and will continue to demonstrate my support over the years to come.”

The HFMA – the voice of the UK’s natural health industry since 1965 - represents more than 130 manufacturers and suppliers of natural health products and founded the Health Journalist of the Year Award in 1996.  Past winners have included Victoria Lambert, Dr Chris Steele, Dr Thomas Stuttaford, Dr Mark Atkinson, Michael van Straten, Dr Sarah Brewer, Amanda Ursell, Jennifer Harper-Deacon, Gill Cox and last year’s winner, Sarah Hartley.

Members Login